Skip to main content
Import - Shift4

Universal Transaction Gateway FAQs

What data should be backed up from the Universal Transaction Gateway and/or Transaction Manager When Closing a Shift4 Account?

Shift4 does not store sensitive data on the computers that have the Shift4 Universal Transaction Gateway (UTG) installed on them. Therefore, there is nothing to back up from the UTG application. Shift4 does ask that you remove the UTG software by uninstalling it or by reformatting the hard drive on applicable machines.

As far as your transaction data, Shift4 stores the transaction information on the Transaction Manager databases. You should retrieve any reports or data you need to keep from Transaction Manager prior to terminating your account. 

Note: Once your account has been terminated, you will no longer have access to your transaction data unless you pay a fee to have Shift4 maintain your archive database.

Can the Universal Transaction Gateway (UTG) be installed on a virtual machine?

For customers authorized to do their own Universal Transaction Gateway (UTG) installs, they can install on a virtual machine, but should ensure that the virtual machine meets the minimum system requirements as outlined in Chapter 3 of the UTG Quick Installation Guide.

For customers who need Shift4 to perform the installation, the UTG can be installed on any computer – virtual or physical, as long as it can pass the Pre-Installation Assessment (PIA) requirements.

Note: Shift4 cannot support the virtualization itself. 

What does the error message "!UNMANAGED! Running" indicate in the TuneUp status window?

This error message "!UNMANAGED! Running" means the UTG's Stand Alone was closed abruptly or improperly (e.g., clicking the "X" to end the process from the Task Manager or hard rebooting the computer). It displays this label on the top right corner of the Stand Alone.

Note: The UTG will still function and process normally. 

  • Was this article helpful?